YJC 2014 & Today’s Adventures in Exercise

YJC2014I may not leave for the conference until tomorrow but my excitement is already palpable! That’s right, the road to Yoga Journal Conference NYC 2014 is almost complete – in a mere 33 hours I’ll be checking in for a weekend full of incredible energy, excitement & inspiration!

Last year I attended the business of yoga workshop & participated in the free group classes but this year I am taking 6 workshops covering various aspects of practice. I’m super excited to learn from some of the world’s most amazing yogis Yoga-Journal-Conference-New-York-City– no joke, most of these inspiring folks are internationally recognized & travel extensively to share their practice – but I’m a bit nervous! Considering a lot of the conference attendees are teachers themselves or veterans in the yoga community, how could I not be nervous?!?! Instead of letting my nerves get the best of me, I’m transferring that energy into absorbing all the weekend has to offer! Beyond the workshops, its incredible to feel the sense of community & positive energy from everyone around – knowing you’re surrounded by people who share your passions is very powerful!

Wish me luck!

Today is pilates class number four & I finally feel like I am getting the hang of it! I really enjoy the isolated liftmovements…you can totally feel the shape of your muscles changing! Also, this will be the second week I’m experimenting with weight lighting. Its been years since I have done any lifting but with my back pain increasing it makes sense to try & strengthen all the supporting muscle groups. I am lifting with my pilates partner in crime over at Kissing Chubby Goodbye since she’s been into the lighting scene for about 8 months now & we’re definitely easing me back into it. The plan is to keep it simple, play it safe with the spine & see how it goes…I’ll keep ya posted!

Have you tried anything new lately? I’d love to hear about it!

Daily Eats:

  • Breakfast: Quinoa Protein Porridge w/Banana
  • Snack #1: Greek Yogurt w/Blueberries
  • Lunch: Egg Salad w/Mixed Greens & Pita
  • Snack #2: Peanut Butter & Honey Whole Wheat Pretzel Sticks
  • Post Workout: Apple
  • Dinner: Baked Tofu w/Exotic Mushrooms & Sweet Potato Fries
  • Dessert: Cacao Mousse Tarts
Leave a Reply

