Rockaway St. Patty’s & The Start of Lent

Happy Hump Day Folks! While I may have had a wonderful weekend, it certainly didn’t take me until today to fully recover, but close, haha!! The start of my week has been busy busy busy between work, another snow storm, mother/daughter night @ the Philadelphia Flower Show and water damage issues in my apartment (yes, again!).pats I did manage to squeeze 30 minutes of exercise before we kicked things off Saturday & I was so grateful for the boost in energy! We had a wonderful weekend: Authentic Irish music, a fun filled parade, dancing, green cocktails and general awesomeness! It was so much fun to catch up with my best friend from college! As soon as we get together, its like we’ve spent no time apart…the only thing that’s different is we can’t quite ‘hang’ the way we used to… nor do we want to, haha!

This weekend really reminded me the importance of family, tradition and lasting friendships! Life pulls us all in a million directions, sometimes its hard to remember where we come from and what is truly most important. Since today is the Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent for Catholics, that reminder couldn’t have come at a better time!

The traditional purpose of Lent is to prepare for Christ’s resurrection through things like prayer, atonement and self-denial (giving up guilty pleasures, poor behaviors, and various other indulgences). I always use this time to work on being the best version of myself: I try to practice more patience, skip snacking & drinking during the week, as well as making my best effort not to curse.

Whether you are a practicing Christian or not, take this time before the start of spring, to make one positive change in your life.

2 thoughts on “Rockaway St. Patty’s & The Start of Lent

Leave a Reply

