Pumpkin Fettuccine

20131012-182707.jpg As promised, some seasonal sensations from my rainy Friday night. Somehow the weather held out today, which made for an amazing farmers market excursion after the gym and some awesome city strolling!

My pumpkin fettuccine experiment started simply as a way to please my boyfriends pumpkin passion and sink myself into some seasonal sensations. I found a recipe in one of the cookbooks I dug out of my basement and while I am not a fan of following recipes, homemade pasta dough can get a little tricky.

The recipe comes from ‘The glorious Pasta of Italy’ by Domenica Marchetti and I adapted it a bit by using whole wheat flour but in general it’s 2+ cups flour, a few tablespoons of semolina, two eggs, 1/3 cup pumpkin purée, nutmeg, salt and a little water. After mixing and kneading for about 30 minutes and letting the dough set for about the same I set to the task of rolling the dough.

20131012-185654.jpg

And cutting it…

20131012-185736.jpg

And letting it rest to dry a little…

20131012-185814.jpg

Which is when I set to the task of poaching then broiling my lovely Halibut filets and mixing up a béchamel to sauce both the pasta and fish.

20131012-185953.jpg

20131012-190015.jpg

Now this is not a super healthy recipe by any means but when you’ve had a hard week and it’s been raining for days, decadence is paramount!

The flavors in the pasta and sauce were both subtle and indulgent and the fish was something out of this world!

CAUTION: this dish is known to induce a food coma likened to that of a thanksgiving feast and demands some cardio the morning after to feel normal again….but worth every bite!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Fettuccine

Leave a Reply

