Moments or Mementos

Image

Some of my fondest memories throughout my life are marked by a memento or small keepsake. To some, this might make me a bit of a hoarder but I love looking at little trinkets, ticket stubs, pieces of jewelry or in some cases extremely random items and remembering the memories attached.

I recently lost a few of those mementos and was pretty devastated. While I did sob myself to sleep that night, I woke up with a question burning in my brain: ‘What’s more important, the memory or the memento?’ Well, that was fairly obvious…the memory!

The mementos, while special, were just objects – material items that marked moments of immeasurable value but not invaluable themselves.

Even without those items, the memory stays.

Leave a Reply

