Cook Once, Eat Twice!

cook onceIf you’ve read a few of my food posts you know I am totally into making things easy and LOVE leftovers! Its not as if this is some ingenious idea but if I am going to prepare a meal, like this lovely citrus and herb turbot with quinoa and mixed veggies, I will always make at least one extra portion for a meal the following day.

eat twice
The biggest challenge in this is making sure you don’t overcook your food, so when you reheat the next day, your veggies and fish don’t become mushy and unappetizing!

The veggies are done over medium heat with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and a little homemade veggie stock. Cook for 10-15 minutes depending on what you’re adding. I sweat my onions, add a clove of minced garlic to start. Then I carrots,a few minutes later peppers and asparagus, and finally the oyster and shitake mushrooms (yep, I know, there is a lot going on in there)!

The fish is done in a little bit of lime or lemon juice and barely a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. Season with salt, pepper and fresh herbs (dill, parsley and oregano) and cook in the oven for 15 minutes @ 400.

In 35 minutes I prepped and cooked two delicious, healthy, cleanse worthy meals that kept me full and satisfied for hours!

Make things easy for yourself and cook once, eat twice…Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Cook Once, Eat Twice!

Leave a Reply

