Urban herbs

One of the best ways to season food and make it more flavorful is with fresh herbs! I have an affinity for adding them to everything and admittedly going overboard at times!

My parents have always had fresh herbs growing in the backyard, so I frequently ‘borrow’ heaps of rosemary, basil, cilantro and parsley. While my mother keeps a lovely array of options in the yard, I’ve had the itch to plant my own. The only trouble with starting my own herbal paradise is the fact I live in a tiny one bedroom apartment in the heart of Philadelphia.

With my nutrition program starting, I knew I would be kicking up my culinary game and needed a variety of fresh herbs on hand. Inspired and determined, I enlisted the help of my constantly supportive mother and took to the home and garden store.

Brilliant in all things horticultural, my mother helped me select the perfect vessels for my space and budget. “You want to have a deep container for the roots to grow and something with enough room to give each plant space to expand,” she said.

After a messy 30 minutes, we successfully planted my cilantro, parsley, dill, oregano, basil, mint, rosemary and lavender in the window box inserts we selected. Per the recommendation of the on hand horticulturalist, we built up the base around each plant, packed in the soil as best as possible and gave each container a HEALTHY drink of water.

In a few weeks, with some love and hopefully not over-watering, I will have hardy herb plants to create healthy culinary delights a plenty!

No matter what your space, you can create an herb garden with minimal effort! Get some dirt, a vessel, baby herb plants from your local farm stand or nursery and see what culinary creations you can come up with!

20130514-202544.jpg

Leave a Reply

